No, Eminem is not an Aspie

I have been seeing an article floating around Facebook for the past couple of days about claiming, remember this is just a speculation NOT actual fact, that Marshall Mathers (AKA Eminem) definitely has Asperger’s Syndrome. I am terribly disgusted by the claim going about, as if it is a bare-bone fact and not just speculation that can easily be proven false, but I am even more disgusted that people in the Aspie/Autistic community as BUYING INTO this bullshit! Now, before anyone in the community even thinks about trying to prove me wrong or that I have no place to comment on this, I am diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder and have been Autistic for a very long time. I know exactly what I am talking about when it comes to Autism/Asperger’s and this bullshit has prompted me to write this blog. Here are some reasons why i think this is bullshit.

There is no irrefutable proof that Mathers has ever been diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome.

The reason that this claim seems to be going around is because of a few lyrics that have mentioned Asperger’s Syndrome. I can’t believe that I have to say that just BECAUSE someone claims to have symptoms of Asperger’s Syndrome that doesn’t mean they should be automatically believed. Many people have claimed to be Aspie or Autistic to get away with abusive or horrible behaviour in the past or even if they have had an “Aspie moment.” Many people in the mainstream media have claimed that some school shooters are diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome/Autism Spectrum Disorder. Do we REALLY want to support someone who has outwardly written misogynistic, homophobic, and racist lyrics and has been unrepentent about it? Do we really want to associate or welcome those type of people into our community? Do we want to give neurotypicals MORE PROOF that Aspies/Autistic people support violence or are violent? Remember, there are not just straight, white men who are diagnosed Autistic/Aspie.

Even if he is, that does not mean we should welcome him with open arms

There is far too much abuse within and outside of the community that we have to accept EVERY person who claims to have Asperger’s/Autism. This is why I cannot accept someone, who has not had a official diagnosis from a doctor, that claims to have Autism. We cannot know if this person is bullshitting or may have another disorder. We need to be more vigilant than that, we need to THINK MORE CRITICALLY about what we hear from people. Do not accept bullshit claims like this as the whole truth. Wouldn’t it be convient for Mathers to claim to have Asperger’s Syndrome just to excuse his past behaviour? THINK ABOUT IT!

We should not excuse or ignore his past behaviour simply because he claims to have Asperger’s

It stuns me that fellow Aspies/Autistics are whole-heartedly accepting him without remembering some of his more vile and horrible lyrics towards his mother and ex-wife. NO ONE in the community is mentioning that he has openly spoken RAPE THREATS to female muscians! Is the Aspie/Autistic community WILLING to take that shit into account? Are they willing to stand up and say that what he did in the past was and still is NOT ACCEPTABLE OR EXCUSABLE? I sincerely hope so. Abusers have used mental illness to get away with behaviour like this, let us not be the community that does the same!

4 thoughts on “No, Eminem is not an Aspie

  1. aight dude, you need to chill out. I don’t know how much you know about Eminem, but he’s not homophobic/misogynistic/racist and he does not promote violence. I understand how this notion came to be in your head. slim shady does have a ton of lyrics that promote these ideals. they were never meant to be taken seriousely. slim shady is Eminem’s alter ego, he uses these violent words but Eminem is the real person. he has plenty of songs and interviews where he reveals himself to be someone different from slim.
    He has a popular song called “like toy soldiers” where he tells a story of how one of his friends got killed and how the violence is ridiculous.
    The primary reason people believe Eminem to be autistic is because he shows plenty of symptoms, the most noticeable being his lyricism. Eminem is without a doubt one of the best lyricists in the world. he writes lyrics obsessively and pretty much everywhere. He spins them in a way very few people can. you can’t dismiss someone just because you don’t like them.
    ask for sources on and of this and ill deliver.

  2. “Now, before anyone in the community even thinks about trying to prove me wrong or that I have no place to comment on this, I am diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder and have been Autistic for a very long time. I know exactly what I am talking about when it comes to Autism/Asperger’s and this bullshit has prompted me to write this blog.”

    I am also diagnosed with ASD. Maybe I’ve been autistic for longer than you or something, but for me it’s been since before I was born, not just ‘a very long time’. However, I don’t know what goes on in anyone else’s mind as a result of my own experiences. My mind is my own. Sure, I know what defines an ASD diagnosis, but few other people with ASD are anything like me. We just have a couple of footnotes in common. Maybe I didn’t take out a subscription to the autistic telepathy network or something. You clearly have the advantage, here.

    “The reason that this claim seems to be going around is because of a few lyrics that have mentioned Asperger’s Syndrome. I can’t believe that I have to say that just BECAUSE someone claims to have symptoms of Asperger’s Syndrome that doesn’t mean they should be automatically believed.”

    Agreed. Except this isn’t what people are doing. That lyric is just a joke. it’s not to be taken seriously. Meanwhile there’s a pretty large volume of other lyrics, across all of his albums, that do not ‘hint at’ anything, but could be useful if there was a psychologist listening in trying to do a genuine assessment. Speculation is not fact, it is speculation. What you’re actually denouncing is random people doing armchair psychology, rather than a particular lyric.

    “Many people in the mainstream media have claimed that some school shooters are diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome/Autism Spectrum Disorder.”

    So… perhaps they were diagnosed?

    “Do we REALLY want to support someone who has outwardly written misogynistic, homophobic, and racist lyrics and has been unrepentent about it?”

    Do you? From the inferences throughout this paragraph, I’m guessing your answer is no.

    “Do we really want to associate or welcome those type of people into our community?”

    Are you a famous rapper from Detroit? If not, I’d imagine you’re not going to be associated with or share a community with Eminem. He associates with famous people and rappers, and his local community is Detroit.

    “Do we want to give neurotypicals MORE PROOF that Aspies/Autistic people support violence or are violent?”

    Human beings support violence and are violent. Maybe I should be worried about the fact that I am human, but maybe I should instead relax in the knowledge that I am not necessarily the same as other humans. I have very little in common, for example, with Paris Hilton. I’m not female, not blonde, not famous, not pointless and not vacuous. I accept that she’s human, though, and also that I am.

    “Even if he is, that does not mean we should welcome him with open arms

    There is far too much abuse within and outside of the community that we have to accept EVERY person who claims to have Asperger’s/Autism. This is why I cannot accept someone, who has not had a official diagnosis from a doctor, that claims to have Autism. We cannot know if this person is bullshitting or may have another disorder. We need to be more vigilant than that, we need to THINK MORE CRITICALLY about what we hear from people. Do not accept bullshit claims like this as the whole truth. Wouldn’t it be convient for Mathers to claim to have Asperger’s Syndrome just to excuse his past behaviour? THINK ABOUT IT!”

    He’s made no such claims. However, I find it highly notable that you’re talking about acceptance as though there’s some kind of club membership involved in having a neurological condition. I would suggest thinking more critically. If it were possible, and was ever found true, that Hitler had ASD, I would not be offended. Apply this logic to ANY other condition, medical, psychiatric or neurological, and you’ll see how little sense it makes. ‘Nope, that rash is definitely not chickenpox. I have chicken pox and I refuse to accept you having it, because you’re an asshole. Whatever that rash of yours is, it definitely isn’t chickenpox. You can’t join my chickenpox gang’

    Eminem has never claimed to be autistic. Not once. There’s armchair psychologists all over the world who believe he might actually be autistic, and well… they’re not wrong. They’re pointing out some pretty genuinely observable characteristics present through his actual behaviour, and also picking out choice lyrics that ultimately might point in that direction. It’s useless speculation all round, though. If he were to become diagnosed, with ASD or with anything else, their points would be validated. You wouldn’t be forced to accept him, or listen to his music, or shake hands with him.

    • “Sure, I know what defines an ASD diagnosis, but few other people with ASD are anything like me. We just have a couple of footnotes in common. Maybe I didn’t take out a subscription to the autistic telepathy network or something. You clearly have the advantage, here.”

      I was merely commenting on what I have observed from Autistic forums and communities on the internet. What I meant by a long time, I mean that since I was diagnosed which was around the age of five and I was born autistic much like you.

      “Agreed. Except this isn’t what people are doing. That lyric is just a joke. it’s not to be taken seriously. Meanwhile there’s a pretty large volume of other lyrics, across all of his albums, that do not ‘hint at’ anything, but could be useful if there was a psychologist listening in trying to do a genuine assessment.”

      I have seen people in the Autistic community taking that particular lyric literally and saying “oh, I knew he was Autistic all along.” That’s why I said that just because he mentions it, that doesn’t mean he is.

      “So… perhaps they were diagnosed?”

      I was saying that some who do not particularily know the shooter would claim that shooter was Autistic and those who do not have the qualifications to give a diagnosis. The arm-chair psychologists you were speaking about before.

      “Are you a famous rapper from Detroit? If not, I’d imagine you’re not going to be associated with or share a community with Eminem. He associates with famous people and rappers, and his local community is Detroit.”

      No, I am not and I was not referring to his geographical location of birth. I was referring to the fact that he MIGHT possess traits of Autism and those who are Autistic want to associate or even support such an artist simply because he is Autistic without thinking about the impact he has on popular culture.

      “He’s made no such claims. However, I find it highly notable that you’re talking about acceptance as though there’s some kind of club membership involved in having a neurological condition. I would suggest thinking more critically. If it were possible, and was ever found true, that Hitler had ASD, I would not be offended. Apply this logic to ANY other condition, medical, psychiatric or neurological, and you’ll see how little sense it makes.”

      Many people with ASD, or who claim to have ASD, seem to treat it like it is an organization or group. Eminem has definitely never made any claims but what does a man with plenty of cultural power have to lose if he does say he is?

      “They’re pointing out some pretty genuinely observable characteristics present through his actual behaviour, and also picking out choice lyrics that ultimately might point in that direction. It’s useless speculation all round, though. If he were to become diagnosed, with ASD or with anything else, their points would be validated. You wouldn’t be forced to accept him, or listen to his music, or shake hands with him.”

      That wouldn’t stop those who are diagnosed with Autism, or who say they are Autistic,from hail him as some hero. That is what bothers me, not that people would force me to listen to his music. I am just merely asking those with Autism to not be all “Yay, my favorite artist, who has done and said some shitty things and does not feel remorseful for those things, is Autistic!”

Leave a Reply

